adorned

i adorn your engraved image

in fragrant honeysuckle wreaths

rose and jasmine intertwined

their cloying fragrances all create

a muggied  scent

quickly clouded by the eroded dust

plucking away their sweating petals

the wind rushes up and scatters

debris in my red-rimmed eyes

not wanting to collude

in what lies i have told myself

so that i may mourn you with a forgiving heart

my tired tears stubbornly wrenched out

make light trails on my film-laden face

and i rise with grit in my teeth

and gravel on my tongue

the wind and dust

await my departure

and the flowers

to devour.

One thought on “adorned

  1. Prashant says:

    unadulterated ensemble of emotions. Too good !

Thank you for your valuable comments! =)

