I built a house in the sky

I built a house in the sky
and though it 
braced and buckled
crumbled and broke
I built a little house in the sky.

I painted it
all the colours
of a twilight night.

I came to see it
whenever I could
I pushed open
the door 
and oftentimes
I fell right through.

Many a time
it locked me out
and at times it locked me in
but sometimes it left the door ajar.

I wished to walk upon
its clouded tiles
to caress its warm hued walls
and to call it my heart…my home.

But
I knew a house built
in the sky
would only remain 
behind my dreaming eyes.

Thank you for your valuable comments! =)

