Señor Sandman

Here I find you
Señor Sandman

your sand for sale
uninterrupted Zs, 
100% guaranteed!

I sought you with awakened patience
unwittingly enthralled by night
eyes rimmed with burnt exhaustion 
lids wavering on closed 
tossing, turning,twisting,
thoroughly restless

A frenzied mind
that without you
tirelessly keeps a-spinning
stewing in its own 
endless maze

And what simulated slumber
have I chanced upon now?

my limbs, they lay busily abuzz
under the leaden burden of daze
my tranquillized mind, not my own
held prisoner upon the threshold
of dreams
sluggishly struggling past the nitty-gritties
of waking life
the granules of worry 
burrow themselves only deeper


still I know without a second thought
that one grain is not enough

2 thoughts on “Señor Sandman

  1. Soul Walker says:

    I love it still. You really have a way with words.

  2. F.G.M. says:

    I am amazed by your poetry! I do love the “spanish touch” – “Señor Sandman”- Thanks for sharing! Kind regards. FGM

Thank you for your valuable comments! =)

